Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner

Gerhard Faulstich (Baritone)

Born: Germany

The German baritone, Gerhard Faulstich, studied singing at the Music College of Frankfurt a.M.

After finishing his studies, Gerhard Faulstich was active since 1965 as a concert singer. He began his stage career in 1971 with an engagement with Theater im Revier Gelsenkirchen. He made his operatic debut there as Leonardo in the contemporary opera Bluthochzeit by Wolfgang Fortner. Since 1981 he worked at the National Theatre of Lower Saxony Hannover, where he performed variety of great roles in the following nine years, among them Papageno in Zauberflöte, Zaren Peter in Zar und Zimmermann by Lortzing, Wolfram in Tannhäuser and Jakob Lenz in the modern chamber opera of the same name of Wolfgang Rihm. In 1980 he started a continuous connection with the National Theatre Hannover and appeared since then as a guest at this house, at the State Opera of Hamburg, at the Opera House of Frankfurt a.M., at the Deutschen Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf-Duisburg and in more German theatres.

In 1991 Gerhard Faulstich could be heard at Milanís La Scala, in 1993 at the Festival of Wiesbaden as Alfonso in Cosi fan tutte. In 1989 he participated in the three hundred-anniversary of the Opera House Hannover in the performance of the Baroque opera Enrico Leone by Agostino Steffani (with this opera the theatre was opened in 1689). Since 1965 he had also a career in the concert hall, both in the area of oratorio and the Lieder singing, which extended all over Europe from Denmark to Portugal, and appeared particularly in the German music centres with constant successes.

Since 1981 Gerhard Faulstich worked as a professor at the College of Music Hannover.

Recordings: Cantate (Lukas-Passion (BWV 246) by Georg Philipp Telemann), Telefunken (Sacred Music), RCA (Matthäus-Passion (BWV 244) by J.S. Bach), FSM (Masses by Schubert and J. Haydn), Calig-Verlag (Enrico Leone by Steffani).

Source: Operissimo Website, English translation by Aryeh Oron (July 2001)
Contributed by
Aryeh Oron (July 2001); Manfred Krugmann (Photo 01, July 2011)

Recordings of Bach Cantatas & Other Vocal Works




Michel Corboz


BWV 244 [1st, Jesus]

Diethard Hellmann


BWV 136

Helmuth Rilling


BWV 233-236

Martin Weimann


BWV 1, BWV 140

Links to other Sites


Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner


Back to the Top

Last update: Monday, May 29, 2017 04:11