Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Explanation | Acronyms

Reiko Fujisawa (Piano)

Born: Japan

The Japanese pianist, Reiko Fujisawa, studied at the Musashino University of Music in Tokyo then in London with Martino Tirimo, Benjamin Kaplan and Yonty Solomon.

Reiko Fujisawa has since established herself as an exciting and formidable virtuoso performer with recital and concerto appearances at many prestigious venues and festivals including the Brighton, Belfast, Warwick & Leamington Festivals, Cadogan Hall, South Bank Centre, St David’s Hall, Fairfield Halls, and the Wigmore Hall, Aberystwyth, Nottingham & Southampton Arts Centres. She made her Wigmore Hall debut in 2003 with a programme that included Schubert’s Sonata in B flat and shortly after commenced a chamber music collaboration with the Soloists of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in a hugely successful concert for piano and wind quintet during the inaugural season at Cadogan Hall in London.

As a featured artist of Japan 2001, Reiko Fujisawa has made numerous appearances with her own unique Ensemble Tozai combining traditional and classical Japanese musicians. Performances have been broadcast on BBC Radio and Channel 4 television featuring the sublime new work Toru’s Mist composed for them by Gavin Bryars. This festival also allowed Reiko to pursue her commitment to performing the music of Japanese composers. Having given the UK premiere of Cloud Atlas I II III by Toshi Ichiyanagi at the South Bank Centre she has subsequently introduced many similar works for solo piano and for violin & piano with the virtuoso violinist Masayuki Kino.

“….a beautifully poised performance” - The Guardian
“Her elegant playing… was a total joy” - The Times

Source: Reiko Fujisawa Website
Contributed by
Aryeh Oron (September 2012)

Reiko Fujisawa: Short Biography | Recordings of Instrumental Works

Links to other Sites

International Concert Pianist Reiko Fujisawa (Official Website)
Reiko Fujisawa on Facebook

Biography of Reiko Fujisawa (Quartz Music)

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Copyright Policy | © 2000-2015 Bach Cantatas Website

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Explanation | Acronyms

Introduction | Cantatas | Other Vocal | Instrumental | Performers | General Topics | Articles | Books | Movies | New
Biographies | Texts & Translations | Scores | References | Commentaries | Music | Concerts | Festivals | Tour | Art & Memorabilia
Chorale Texts | Chorale Melodies | Lutheran Church Year | Readings | Poets & Composers | Arrangements & Transcriptions
Search Website | Search Works/Movements | Terms & Abbreviations | How to contribute | Sitemap | Links


Back to the Top

Last update: ýSeptember 28, 2012 ý12:38:18