Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Explanation | Acronyms

Yorck Kronenberg (Piano)

Born: 1973 - Reutlingen, Germany

The German pianist and composer, Yorck Kronenberg, received his first piano instruction with Professor Paul Buck in Stuttgart. He studied afterwards piano with Professor Konrad Elser and composition with Professor Dr. Friedhelm Döhl in Lübeck. As a pianist he received honours at various young competitions ("Tonkünstler", "Jugend musiziert", etc.), and 1996 a scholarship of the Marie-Luise Imbusch Stiftung. At the Festival "Musik im 20. Jahrhundert" of the Saarländischen Rundfunk in 1998 Kronenberg's Nachtstück for piano solo was given its premiere performance. Other performances followed such as at the Columbia University in New York. In the same year he participated in a composition-workshop with Luciano Berio. He received an even bigger public attention after winning the international piano competition "Johann Sebastian Bach" in Saarbrücken in 1998. A year later, he received the special prize at the Wartburg piano competition in Eisenach.

Yorck Kronenberg was initially a member, pianist and temporarily conductor of the Ensemble Neue Musik Lübeck, which performed in October 1999 his orchestral composition Ellipse. He has participated in numerous broadcast productions and appeared in various festivals. With the SWR-Rundfunkorchester Kaiserslautern under Paul Goodwin, he played several times (up to 2004-2005 season) the piano concertos of Karl Amadeus Hartmann and Igor Stravinsky.

Yorck Kronenberg is also active as a novelist. In 2002 Edition Nautilus published his debut roman Welt unter (world under), noted by the Neue Zürcher Zeitung: "Yorck Kronenberg succeeded with his first work a quite delightful, allusion-rich Nocturne." His narration Gegenlicht (back light) appeared in 2005 in the Anthology "Wieder vereinigt - Neue Deutsche Liebesgeschichten" of the publishing house Klaus Wagenbach.

Source: Sony BMG Website, English translation by Aryeh Oron (November 2006)
Contributed by
Aryeh Oron (November 2006)

Yorck Kronenberg: Short Biography | Recordings of Instrumental Works

Links to other Sites

Yorck Kronenberg (Official Website) [German]
Yorck Kronenberg (Sony BMG) [German]

Yorck Kronenberg (Movimentos)

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Copyright Policy | © 2000-2015 Bach Cantatas Website

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Explanation | Acronyms

Introduction | Cantatas | Other Vocal | Instrumental | Performers | General Topics | Articles | Books | Movies | New
Biographies | Texts & Translations | Scores | References | Commentaries | Music | Concerts | Festivals | Tour | Art & Memorabilia
Chorale Texts | Chorale Melodies | Lutheran Church Year | Readings | Poets & Composers | Arrangements & Transcriptions
Search Website | Search Works/Movements | Terms & Abbreviations | How to contribute | Sitemap | Links


Back to the Top

Last update: żOctober 17, 2009 ż23:32:25