Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner

Tatjana Schatz-Geringas (Piano)

Born: Russia

The Russian- pianist, Tatjana Schatz-Geringas, was born into a Moscow family of musicians. When she was 5 years old she had her first piano lessons with her father, who himself was a student of Heinrich Neuhaus. At the age of 18 she had her first public appearance with W.A. Mozart's Piano Concerto in A major (the concert was transmitted on TV). As a result she was admitted to Professor Heinrich Neuhaus' master-class at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory. After the death of the renowned teacher she continued her studies with his son Stanislav Neuhaus at the Moscow Conservatory.

With with the cellist player David Geringas, whom she had met at that time, Tatjana Schatz-Geringas often played in the presence of Mstislav Rostropovitch, she studied many works together with him. The duo play became her great passion. In 1970 David Geringas and Tatjana Geringas made their debut in the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory. This was followed by a large number of concerts all over the Soviet Union and by radio, television and disc recordings.

After the removal to the Federal Republic of Germany, the artists emigrated in 1975 to Germany and are now living in Hamburg. Their first recordings for Ariola Eurodisc and many concerts all over the world followed the well-noticed debut of the duo at the Ludwigsburger Schloßfestspielen in 1977. they made their remarkable debuts at the 1977 Ludwigsburger Schloßfestspiele and at the Berliner Philharmonie. Since then she has been giving highly acclaimed recitals with David Geringas at the major concert halls of all five continents and together with him she belongs to the internationally most renowned cello and piano duos.

Tatjana Geringas played the world premieres of many compositions including the double concerti Paratum cor meum (1995) for violoncello, clavinova, choir and orchestra by Anatolius Senderovas and Blissful Music (1997) for violoncello, piano and orchestra by Alexander Raskatov.

Source: David Geringas Website (December 2005); Classica Nova Website
Contributed by
Aryeh Oron (February 2013)

Recordings of Arrangements/Transcriptions of Bach’s Works




David Geringas (Cello)


Toccata, Adagio & Fugue in C major, BWV 564: Adagio, arranged for violoncello & piano by Alexander Siloti

Links to other Sites

Classica Nova: Jury: Tatjana Schatz-Geringas


Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner


Back to the Top

Last update: Tuesday, May 30, 2017 02:23