Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner

Beate Gartner (Soprano)

Born: Munich, Germany

The German soprano, Beate Gartner, studied singing at the Hochschule für Musik in Munich and completed her studies there with the master-class. Afterwards, she continued her studies with Noëmi Nadelmann. In 1997, she won the prize of the Johann-Wolfgang-von-Goethe-Stiftung. In July 2000 she took the master-class with Inge Borkh under the Münchner Singschul. During a six-month study period in Italy in 2002, she was in master-classes with Renata Scotto and Mirella Freni, to develop speciality in the Italian repertoire.

From 1996 to 1999 Beate Gartner worked at the Mittelsächsischen Theater in Freiberg, engaged and sang there roles as: Ännchen in Freischütz, Eurydike in Orpheus in der Unterwelt and Papagena in Zauberflöte. The followed seasons she was guest at the same Theater. Moreover, she had a guest contract for the role of Helena in A Midsummer Night's Dream at the Staatstheater Altenburg / Gera. She was also engaged at the Landestheater Bayern.

In addition to its extensive concert activities in the fields of both Lieder and oratorio, Beate Gartner appears as a guest in various opera productions. She appears in various festivals as a soloist, such as the Chiemgau-Festival or the KlassixMix-Festival des Bayerischen Rundfunks. Her roles include, among others, Musetta, Pamina, Ännchen, Eurydice, Papagena, Clorinda and Helena. In 2006 she appeared as Belinda in Purcell's Dido & Aeneas with così facciamo.

Beate Gartner is also a member of the Chors des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Bavarian Radio Choir) and (since the summer of 2003) the Festival Chorus of the Bayreuth Festival.

Source: così facciamo - Ensemble für Alte & Neue Musik Website, Beate Gartner Website, Oratorienchor Heimstetten Website (2005) & Werner Perret: Operettenkonzert Website, English translation by Aryeh Oron (March 2009)
Contributed by
Aryeh Oron (March 2009)

Recordings of Bach Cantatas & Other Vocal Works




Leander Eisenwinter


BWV 248/1-3

Konstantin Köppelmann


BWV 124; BWV 248/1-3

Links to other Sites

Beates Welt (Official Website) [German]
così facciamo - Ensemble für Alte & Neue Musik: Ensemble & Gäste [German]

Werner Perret: Operettenkonzert [German]
Oratorienchor Heimstetten [2005, German]

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner


Back to the Top

Last update: Monday, May 29, 2017 03:13