Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner

Le Parlement du Musique (Instrumental Ensemble)

Founded: 1990 - France

Formed in 1990 by Martin Gester, Le Parlement de Musique (= LPDM) is an ensemble that varies in size according to the requirements of the repertoire : it comprises an orchestra and chorus, as well as soloists. Based on the latest musicological research into the interpretation of 17th- and 18th- century music, it is bare devoted to the Baroque and Classical repertoires.

Le Parlement de Musique has presented many revivals, which have been highly acclaimed by the critics. These include Charpentier's first Leçons de Ténèbres, and his Te Deum and Grands Motets; Alessando Scarlatti's Lamentazioni and Giovanni Battista Bassani's Vespers (awarded the Fondazione Cini Prize, Venice) ; Organ Concertos by J.S. Bach with André Isoir; an anonymous St Matthew Passion from the Library in Uppsala ; and works by Froberger.

The repertroire of the ensemble includes: the Baroque motet, the Baroque Oratorio, Cantatas and works for the Theatre, the Baroque Concerto and its symphonic sequel, a systematic investigation of the concerted organ repertoire, new works of the present day.

Le Parlement de Musique takes part in many festivals in Europe (Ambronay, Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles - Château de Versailles, Postdam Sans-Souci, Schleswig-Holstein, St Michel en Thiérache, Lausanne Bach Festival, Utrecht Festival, etc.), as well as in Asia and America. On disc, these performances have received many record awards.

Backed in its early days by the France Telecom Foundation, the ensemble is now supported by a circle of sponsors and by the Alsace Region. Twelve of its recordings have been co-produced by the Aisne département and Radio-France. On the tenth anniversary of its creation (2000), Le Parlement de Musique gave its first season in Alsace. By agreement with the City of Strasbourg and the French Ministry of Culture, and with the assistance of the Alsace Region, it is now based in Strasbourg.


Source: Le Parlement de musique Website
Contributed by
Aryeh Oron (October 2002)

Martin Gester: Short Biography | Le Parlement de Musique | Recordings of Vocal Works

Recordings of Bach Cantatas & Other Vocal Works




Michel Laplénie


F.N. Brauns: Markus-Passion

Links to other Sites

? Le Parlement de Musique - Martin Gester - Musique Baroque [French/English/German]

Martin Gester, la passion du baroque [French]
Vivre en Ville: Le Parlement de musique

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner


Back to the Top

Last update: Monday, May 29, 2017 12:08